Oblivion by Jennifer L. Armentrout

OblivionTitle: Oblivion
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Series: The Luxen
Previous Books in the Series:
1. Obsidian
2. Onyx
3. Opal
4. Origin
5. Opposition
Date Started: December 2
Date Finished: December 14
Format: ebook from my Apple library

The ruling theme in 2015? Taking the first book of a popular series that was told in a the female protagonist POV and switching it to the male love interest. A good chunk of the time I don’t waste my time with books like this because I don’t want to re-read a book just to get the guy’s point of view but lately the authors who have good male characters have been releasing these books.

Oblivion is the re-telling of Obsidian from Daemon’s point of view and because I purchased it through the iBookstore I also got Onyx and Opal told from Daemon’s POV. And I have to say it was worth the $6.99 I spent. I was so excited to read the whole rest of the Luxen series – since Origin and Opposition switched between Katy and him – from his POV. Especially in the beginning when Daemon and Katy were constantly butting heads. It was awesome to see his inner monologue as he tried to keep Katy away from his sister Dee – and not to mention try to convince himself that he just found her average. I especially loved reading Onyx’s retelling as Daemon kept trying to convince Katy that she was in love with him and it had nothing to do with their connection. I have to admit despite the fact that he comes across arrogant and a real asshole at some points, he does know when he seriously messed up.

My one complaint was that I felt the Opal retelling was a little bit rushed. Out of the three books that one was the shortest and I felt like Armentrout skipped over some parts, but because I haven’t read Opal in a while I can’t be a 100% sure.

Final Rating: 5 out of 5 stars. Oh, Daemon, you’re such a problematic cinnamon roll, but damn it. I loved every minute of it.

Bookshelf worthy? Buy it, especially if you’ve read the other five books in this series.

About arkornylo

College grad, writer who's always suffering from some form of writer's block, hockey enthusiast, book lover, music junkie and graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Jennifer L. Armentrout, Romance, Science Fiction, The Luxen Series, Young Adult Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

