Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones

6294Title: Howl’s Moving Castle
Author: Diana Wynne Jones
Date Started: November 17
Date Finished: November 21
Format: Mass trade paperback from library co-op

Let’s get this out of the way before I continue this review: I have seen this movie multiple times and I love it, so when I heard that it was based off a book I decided that I should better get this book and see what was changed from page to screen.

I really wished I hadn’t.

Don’t get me wrong, the book was good and I’m the kind of person who can distinguish between a film and book, but…I don’t know. This book lacked some things. Howl and Sophie’s relationship was very hard. They fight like old parents, so when at the end they started giving each other those looks, I had to throw up my hands in confusion. Did I miss something? When did they fall for each other? I mean, seriously, for three hundred and sixty-nine pages – Sophie is literally this little mouse who is anxious all the time and when she gets older she’s very angry and bitter. I actually loved the character of Michael, still – that was probably the best character from page to screen. Howl was so vain in this novel and had zero character development that I literally wished that he had died at the end.

I still don’t one hundred percent understand the events that happened at the end of the book and I have a feeling to do so I would have to re-read the book again. But I’m not going to waste my time.

Final Rating: 3 out of 5 stars. This book wasn’t bad, but for like the third time I’m going to have to say that the movie is actually better than the book.

Bookshelf worthy? Support your local library!

About arkornylo

College grad, writer who's always suffering from some form of writer's block, hockey enthusiast, book lover, music junkie and graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Fantasy, Mystery, Romance, Young Adult Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones

  1. Thanks for the warning. I love the movie, too, and have been thinking about reading this book.

    Like

Leave a Reply

