Daughter of Dusk by Livia Blackburne

DaughterofDuskTitle: Daughter of Dusk
Author: Livia Blackburne
Sequel to: Midnight Thief
Date Started: September 23
Date Finished: September 25
Format: Hardcover from library co-op

Not much has really changed in the three months since the ending of Midnight Thief. Kyra works for the Palace now as an informant on the Assassin’s Guild. Tristam and her are walking around each other on eggshells not sure what their kiss in the forest meant. She’s still trying to figure out her bloodlines and what it means to be a Demon Rider, and everything changes for him when he gets a letter from home. But that’s not the worst part. The worst part is that the Demon Rider attacks have increased, so much so that the council of Forget is about to take military action against the demon cats.

Military action that could get innocent soldiers killed, but despite protests from the defense minister, the council approves the notion to increase troops and to enlist from the city. Kyra doesn’t want that to happen and tries to put a stop to it, but in this city there’s always some kind of crooked politics afoot.

I really liked Midnight Thief, and when I found out there was a sequel I was really excited, even more so when I found out it was coming out on my birthday this year. I was excited because I loved the story line of Kyra and Tristam and I really wanted to see where their story went next. The answer was pretty much what I expected, there weren’t any real good twists like there were in MT. Who Kyra’s father is, I saw that coming. Tristam being betrothed to someone else to help his family. Wilem having an insidious plot with the land of Edlan. Tristam and Kyra despite the odds ending up together. It was all kind of predictable. But don’t get me wrong, it was well written and I really enjoyed every minute I spent reading Daughter of Dusk. I just wished something had happened that would have shocked me.

Final Rating: 4 out of 5 stars. A good story with likable characters and a nice conclusion to story lines. Just a little bit too predictable.

Bookshelf worthy? Support your local library!

About arkornylo

College grad, writer who's always suffering from some form of writer's block, hockey enthusiast, book lover, music junkie and graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Mystery, Paranormal, Romance, Young Adult Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

