The King’s Curse by Philippa Gregory

513ccl9qpol-_sx326_bo1204203200_Title: The King’s Curse
Author: Philippa Gregory
Series: The Cousins War
Previous Books in the Series:
1. The White Queen
2. The Red Queen
3. The Lady of the Rivers
4. The Kingmaker’s Daughter
5. The White Princess
Date Started: September 4
Date Finished: September 11
Format: Hardcover from local library

The quickest summary of a 597-paged book ever: The King’s Curse follows Margaret Pole as she recovers from her brother’s death and watches as her home country of England turns from the worst to the better and back again. I think that pretty much sums it up.

I did not like this book one bit, which is such a shame considering I liked the time period that this book took place in. I thought for sure I was going to like it because it dealt with my favorite part of the Tudor era – where Henry VIII is king and he’s in love with Katherine and then struggles with putting her aside for Anne Boleyn. But I was supremely disappointed. Don’t get me wrong, the beginning was good. In fact, it was probably my favorite part of the whole book and the reason I’m giving it two stars instead of one. It was really interesting to see the Arthur/Katherine/Henry relationship from a different perspective. However, after Katherine succeeds in marrying Henry this book turned bad, and turned bad fast.

I felt like I was rereading The Constant Princess and The Other Boleyn Girl, only this time from Margaret’s perspective and I have to say I was not as entertained as I was in those two books. Margaret is very boring. She fears for her life and the life of her sons way too much to have a good time at court and I honestly wonder why she stuck around so much if she was in such constant fear.

Final Rating: 2 out of 5 stars. Honestly, why was this book so long? There were too many details that I could have done without. In fact, I didn’t read the last 50 pages, because I was just so done with it. I skimmed the last page and laughed somewhat coldly at the results. After everything, Margaret Pole is executed for treason. Talk about your anticlimactic endings.

Bookshelf worthy? If you’ve already read The Constant Princess and The Other Boleyn Girl, don’t even bother with this one. If you haven’t, then support your local library!

About arkornylo

College grad, writer who's always suffering from some form of writer's block, hockey enthusiast, book lover, music junkie and graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Favorite Authors, Historical Fiction, Philippa Gregory, Regency, Romance, The Cousins War series and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

