The Start of Me and You by Emery Lord

22429350Title: The Start of Me and You
Author: Emery Lord
Date Read: August 31
Format: Hardcover from local library

Please forgive any spelling errors in this post, folks, because I’ve just been done in by another book. And this time I didn’t think I was going to be. The Start of Me and You follows Paige Hancock as she continues to move on from being that girl. The One Who’s Boyfriend Died the summer before sophomore year. She’s made some admirable progress, but this year she wants to make more. She wants to make this year meaningful and she has a plan to do it.

First she’s going to attend parties. Thanks to everyone giving her That Look last year, she just dropped off the face of the social scene. But now, she thinks, she’s ready to get back into it. And what better way than the big back to school party the weekend school starts? Easy. Second, she’s going to join a new club. Similar along the lines of her first task, she wants to join a new group so that way she has more friends than just her three best girls. And a new club seems the best way to do that. Third, she’s going to start dating again. It’s been over a year since Aaron’s passing, it’s time to get back out there and find someone new. And with her crush for forever Ryan Chase available again, maybe the stars are lining up in her favor? Fourth, she’s going to travel. Her favorite picture is the one of her grandmother dancing in front of the Eiffel Tower, and with this writing summer class at NYU that she’s applying for, maybe she’ll be able to? And finally, she’s going to swim, which is the hardest task of all, considering her daily nightmare about drowning ever since Aaron’s death.

But you know what they say about the best laid plans…

As I said at the beginning of this review, this book made me an emotional wreck, which I was floored by. This was one of those books that I knew what I was getting into – and usually if I know ahead of time I won’t become a wreck – but the execution of the story line was so well done that I found myself tearing up over the last 50 pages or so. Paige’s relationship with her friends Tessa, Morgan, and Kayleigh was almost something out of The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants. They were that close and it was such a beautiful thing. What was even better was how Ryan Chase – Paige’s crush – turned into her friend and it was his cousin Max, who she became friends with accidentally, turns out to be the object of her affection even though she’s the last to know. Max and Paige’s friendship just gave me a lot of feelings, but with any book I knew something had to happen to them to force them apart. I still don’t like what happened, but considering the other options I thought of, this was definitely the most tame.

Final Rating: 5 out of 5 stars. I wish there was a way that I could read this book for the first time again, because it was just so good. I might warn myself to bring tissues though.

Bookshelf worthy? Maybe I should just take out the bed and put bookshelves in its place.

About arkornylo

College grad, writer who's always suffering from some form of writer's block, hockey enthusiast, book lover, music junkie and graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Romance, Young Adult Fiction and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Start of Me and You by Emery Lord

  1. Wow I love when a book overwhelms you with feelings like this! Consider me forewarned, I’ll get the tissues ready.

    Like

  2. Pingback: When We Collided by Emery Lord | Too Many Books Not Enough Shelves

Leave a Reply

