P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han

51kcvxdp11l-_sy344_bo1204203200_Title: P.S. I Still Love You
Author: Jenny Han
Sequel to: To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before
Date Read: August 28
Format: Hardcover from local library

Lara Jean never intended to actually fall for Peter, the guy she used to make sure the guys who got her pretend love letters knew that she wasn’t still into them. But she did, and that’s why it hurts that her most intimate moment is known by all of Peter’s friends because he boasted that they had sex the night of the ski trip. Even though he denied telling them that. It’s New Years Day, and Lara Jean has just finished writing another letter to Peter, this one confessing how she actually feels, and she isn’t sure how to go about giving it to him. Because she wants another chance for them, but what if he doesn’t?

She goes to his house to give it to him, yet chickens out when he opens the door. He gets the letter anyway, and they both decide that maybe they shouldn’t be pretend boyfriend and girlfriend anymore, but real. They give it another go, and everything seems to be going great. Except, Peter is still hanging out with his ex Genevieve. Then the moment Peter and Lara Jean shared in the hot tub that night gets posted to some anonymous Instagram account and the whole school thinks the worst.

You know it’s been too long between books when you don’t really remember what happened in the first one. I had that feeling with P.S. I Still Love You, and I had to look up my own review for To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before just to get an idea of what happened. Thankfully, it didn’t really matter all that much that it took me a year between books. Jumping back in was easy, and this time around I loved it. Lara Jean wasn’t as annoying as she was in book one, and she’s grown up a lot. I still think she’s a little naive, but I think, in her case, that’s a good thing. Peter…I’m kind of still up in the air with him. Like, I liked the fact that he was so good to LJ’s younger sister Kitty and he really liked LJ’s questions and he did try to be honest with her. But when the stuff with Genevieve happened, I wasn’t all that surprised, because of his past with her. John, on the other hand, was a lot better. He was sweet and kind and he made it obvious to LJ would always be his first choice.

Final Rating: 4 out of 5 stars. The only reason this book isn’t getting the full five stars, is because I didn’t like the ending. After everything that LJ went through, how is it she ended up with Peter? Don’t get me wrong, I think it was a sweet reunion, but…John was a better choice! *sigh*

Bookshelf worthy? Support your local library!

About arkornylo

College grad, writer who's always suffering from some form of writer's block, hockey enthusiast, book lover, music junkie and graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Romance, Young Adult Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han

  1. Pingback: Always and Forever, Lara Jean by Jenny Han | Too Many Books Not Enough Shelves

Leave a Reply

