Royal Wedding by Meg Cabot

royal-wedding-book-coverjpgTitle: Royal Wedding
Author: Meg Cabot
Series: The Princess Diaries
Previous Books in the Series:
1. The Princess Diaries
2. Princess in the Spotlight
3. Princess in Love
4. Princess in Waiting
5. Princess in Pink
6. Princess in Training
7. Party Princess
8. Princess on the Brink
9. Princess Mia
10. Forever Princess
Date Started: July 27
Date Finished: July 28
Format: Paperback from my own shelf

The last we left Mia Thermopolis she had just graduated from high school, had dumped her boyfriend J.P to get back together with Michael and Lilly and her had become best friends again. They all lived happily ever after, the end. But apparently, not. It’s eight years later, and Mia is having a difficult time again and a lot of things have changed. 

Mia’s stepfather Frank passed away a year ago from congestive heart failure. Tina is in medical school to become a doctor, and her and Borris (who became a pop star a la One Direction fame, who knew?) are on the outs because of a cheating scandal. Lilly is studying for the bar exam (who else totally saw her being a lawyer and not because of The Princess Diaries 2 movie?). Mia’s father has just been arrested for speed racing. And the lovely princess herself, has been up to her usual tricks. Avoiding the media. Being in love with Michael and running the new teen community center she opened in her stepfather’s memory.

But that isn’t all that bad, right? Well…Phillipe’s arrest comes at a bad time, he’s already losing in the prime minister polls to their other cousin Count Ivan, and Mia is having a harder time than usual with the media because they won’t stop hounding her about why Michael hasn’t proposed yet. And I have to agree with them. It’s been more than 12 years (if you include the time they knew each other in high school), why hasn’t he popped the question yet? However, I guess I shouldn’t be worried because Mia isn’t worried, except for the fact that she’s noticed a darker look in his eyes the last few weeks.

Which is all explained when they go away for her birthday and she finds a ring in her champagne glass. Of course, she says yes, and they plan on something small, but with Grandmere around (yes, she’s still kicking) you know Mia won’t be able to get away with that. Plus there are few stunning revelations left that turn Mia’s life upside down….

I’ll get this out of the way now, before I gush and become a total fan girl, I LOVED this book! I know, a lot of people who haven’t read the series in a while and didn’t realize they missed it until they read this book said it was perfect, but I was hesitant because I’ve been doing my series reread since last month already and didn’t want to have a PD overload. But I shouldn’t have worried. It was light. It was funny. It was perfect. As a fan of this series I couldn’t have asked for a better continuation. However, with one of the revelations that resulted in a spin-off series, I’m not quite sure if I want to read those books. I mean, I’ve stuck by Mia, and I like Olivia, I just…do I really need to add more books to my reading list? But how else am I going to keep track of what happens with Mia? Hm…

Final Rating: 5 out of 5 stars. An amazing sequel to a series that everyone thought was finished, with a few fantastic plot twists that had me jumping for joy. Mia is perfect as ever as is Michael. And I’m really glad to know that she stayed in touch with her friends through the years.

Bookshelf worthy? Since it did come out this year, the cover doesn’t match the others, but that’s okay. It’s still perfect in it’s sky blue/green awesomeness.

About arkornylo

College grad, writer who's always suffering from some form of writer's block, hockey enthusiast, book lover, music junkie and graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Favorite Authors, Meg Cabot, Romance, The Princess Diaries series and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

