Forever Princess by Meg Cabot

31vh01z2htl-sx316Title: Forever Princess
Author: Meg Cabot
Series: The Princess Diaries
Previous Books in the Series:
1. The Princess Diaries
2. Princess in the Spotlight
3. Princess in Love
4. Princess in Waiting
5. Princess in Pink
6. Princess in Training
7. Party Princess
8. Princess on the Brink
9. Princess Mia
Date Started: July 24
Date Finished: July 27
Format: Paperback from my own shelf

Another book, another time jump. It’s almost the end of Mia’s senior year and things are going okay for her. Her father is running for prime minister of Genovia against her cousin René. Lilly and her are on talking terms, but still not best friends. She’s still friends with Lana and Trish. J.P and her are going strong. And Mia is still a big liar. But this time she might have the right to be.

Like Lana predicted back in book 9, Mia got in everywhere she applied, which is great news, except it really isn’t. Mia knows that they only let her in because she’s a princess, which makes choosing where she’s going to go in the fall difficult. Especially because she lied and told everyone she didn’t get in anywhere. And then there’s her senior project. She’s told everyone that she wrote a 400 paged paper on the Genovian olive oil trade, but that isn’t what she did. No, instead she wrote a 400 paged romance novel called Ransom My Heart. She’s sent it out to publishers – under a pseudonym, she learned her lesson from the college thing – but it isn’t going so well with one rejection letter coming in at a time.

And if that wasn’t enough, Michael is back in town. A successful millionaire and wanting to not only read her senior project, but maybe win back the heart of his favorite princess as well? What’s a girl to do?

Out of them all, book 10 of this series is definitely my favorite. Back when it came out, it was the final book in the series and things ended perfectly. Mia got her book published. Her dad won the election thanks to help from Lilly and Michael. Mia realized how much of an asshat J.P was and ended up with Michael. You have no idea how happy that storyline made me. I told you I didn’t like J.P. back in book 9 as her romantic love interest, and I was right. Even though Mia tried really hard to make it work, it just didn’t, and when Michael came back to town, you knew that relationship was toast. Personally? I think J.P. knew it too and that’s why he gave her that promise ring. Not because he loved her, but because he wanted to show Michael that Mia wasn’t his anymore. Anyway. As usual, Michael is so freaking awesome. He’s sweet and nice and at first, he did have me going when they tried to be friends. But as soon as he signed his texts/messages with Love, I knew he hadn’t stopped loving Mia. I just wish Mia had realized it sooner! And speaking of Michael, his relationship with Lars was always hilarious, and in this book I was on the floor with this little exchange:

“Lars,” he called over the top of my head, to my bodyguard. “Tell me the truth. Do I need to go back over there and turn J.P. Reynolds-Abernathy the Fourth into cream of wheat?”
Lars, to my total mortification, nodded, and said, “In my opinion, most definitely.”
“Lars!” I cried, starting to panic. “No. No! Michael, it’s over. J.P. and I just broke up. You don’t have to hit anybody.”
“Well, I think maybe I do,” Michael said. He wasn’t teasing, either. There was no smile on his face as he said, “I think maybe the earth would be a better place if somebody had turned J.P. Reynolds-Abernathy the Fourth into cream of wheat a long time ago. Lars? Do you agree with me?”
Lars looked at his watch and said, “It’s midnight. I don’t hit anyone after midnight. Bodyguard-union regulations.”
“Fine,” Michael said. “You hold him down, and I’ll hit him.”

Not much of a bodyguard if he can’t hit anyone after midnight, is he?

Final Rating: 5 out of 5 stars. A beautiful ending back in 2009. Now I’m curious as to where book 11 is going to take us…

Bookshelf worthy? Ooh, look powder blue! It’s not a highlighter color!

About arkornylo

College grad, writer who's always suffering from some form of writer's block, hockey enthusiast, book lover, music junkie and graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Favorite Authors, Meg Cabot, Romance, The Princess Diaries series, Young Adult Fiction and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Forever Princess by Meg Cabot

  1. Pingback: Royal Wedding by Meg Cabot | Too Many Books Not Enough Shelves

Leave a Reply

