White Hot Kiss by Jennifer L. Armentrout

whitehotkiss1Title: White Hot Kiss
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Series: The Dark Elements
Date Started: June 22
Date Finished: June 23
Format: Paperback from my local library

Layla appears to be a normal seventeen-year-old, but as most books go, she really isn’t. She’s half-demon and half-Warden (a gargoyle that protects the world from demons). She goes to high school like a normal teenage girl does, but what she does afterwards is a little bit more than homework and studying. She tags demons for her Warden family to hunt at night. While on a tagging mission, the demon she is following turns out to be a completely different demon and is about to get the drop on her when an Upper Level demon steps in to save her. Not sure what to think, she bolts and doesn’t think about it again until the next day when the demon shows up in her biology class.

His name is Roth and he doesn’t want to kill her despite her belief that he does. He actually needs her help with retrieving a book that unlocks all the origins of the demons. At first Layla isn’t interested until he tells her that not only are the demons origins in this book, but the reason why the demons are suddenly after her is in it too. Despite her best intentions, curiosity gets the better of her and she goes down a road where she learns her true parentage and what the demons are after…

Jennifer Armentrout has done it again, she’s created another world that I want to be in. You don’t read too much about gargoyles in paranormal/fantasy/romance fiction in young adult, so it was definitely something fresh and exciting. Layla reminded me a lot of Kat (from Armentrout’s Luxen series) with how strong headed and stubborn she was. While Roth, well, he reminded me a lot of Daemon in a totally evil but not sort of way. I’m not sure how I felt about Layla’s friend/love interest Zayne. I mean, I liked that he was there for her, but I don’t like how sometimes he held her back even when he was only looking out for her safety. Maybe he’ll grow on me in the next book?

Final Rating: 5 out of 5 stars. There was a lot of dramatic fighting scenes with demons and gargoyles that was quite intense, while at the same time a lot of hot steamy scenes between Layla and Roth that made me wonder if this could really be classified as YA. The storyline was good although that ending! Man, I’m really glad that I borrowed the second book from the library too, or else I would have had to go to the bookstore and pick it up.

Bookshelf worthy? I bought all of Armentrout’s Luxen series as an ebook and I think the universe knew I got more gift cards for the store I use. Why else would I have only now just found out about this series? I might purchase these as an ebook too if they ever go on sale. Now, excuse me while I go read book 2.

About arkornylo

College grad, writer who's always suffering from some form of writer's block, hockey enthusiast, book lover, music junkie and graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Fantasy, Jennifer L. Armentrout, Paranormal, Romance, The Dark Elements Series, Young Adult Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to White Hot Kiss by Jennifer L. Armentrout

  1. Pingback: Stone Cold Touch by Jennifer L. Armentrout | Too Many Books Not Enough Shelves

  2. Pingback: Every Last Breath by Jennifer L. Armentrout | Too Many Books Not Enough Shelves

Leave a Reply

