Burn by Maya Banks

Untitled-9Title: Burn
Author: Maya Banks
Series: Breathless Trilogy
Previous Books in the Series:
1. Rush
2. Fever
Date Started: June 17
Date Finished: June 18
Format: Paperback from my local library

It always used to be a ‘play hard live free’ attitude for Ash, Jace, and Gabe. But things have changed. Gabe has Mia and they are getting married. Jace has Bethany and they’ll be following them down the alter soon. Ash is alone, which is a very odd place for him to be at. That is until he runs into this beautiful woman in the park. She’s an artist and is wearing a collar. Now, he knows what that piece of jewelry would mean to him, but maybe she just likes that type of necklace. He asks her and is stunned to learn not only that she has a Dom, but that while he had been standing in the park she had been drawing him. He asks for her name and despite knowing better can’t seem to get her out of his head. Her name is Josie and she turns his whole world upside down.

To be completely honest, I was very skeptical to read this book considering how much unnecessary drama was in the last one. I didn’t want to experience that again. But I’m glad that I went ahead and read Burn anyway. Don’t get me wrong. There was drama, but this time I think it was necessary. Josie compared to Bethany is a very headstrong character. I’m actually quite surprised that she got into this whole dom/sub relationship to begin with. She doesn’t seem the type. Ash, on the other hand, I’m not quite sure what I make of him. I loved him in the first two books. He always seemed like the kinder older brother that I never had and that dynamic was still apparent in this book. But there was definitely something more…darker there than with the other main male characters. It probably has to deal with his family drama, but I don’t know it was definitely interesting to see him in this new role.

One thing that I definitely loved about this book was how easily Josie was embraced into the fold that was Ash’s family. She made quick friends with Ash’s sister Brittany and with Mia and Bethany too. Their girl’s night out was actually pretty adorable to be honest. I also liked the fact that Ash took such great care of his sister despite how long they had been on the outs. It was really cool to see him in an actual big brother role then his pretend one with Mia. My one huge complaint for this book was the fact that we didn’t get to see Gabe and Mia’s wedding. I get that this was Ash’s tale, but considering that this all started with the two of them anyway? Why couldn’t we see the big event?

Final Rating: 4 out of 5 stars. I don’t get why people didn’t like this book. It was a lot better than Fever, although not as good as Rush. Hm.

Bookshelf worthy? Support your local library!

About arkornylo

College grad, writer who's always suffering from some form of writer's block, hockey enthusiast, book lover, music junkie and graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Erotica, Romance and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

