Saint Anything by Sarah Dessen

23009402Title: Saint Anything
Author: Sarah Dessen
Date Started: May 22
Date Finished: May 23
Format: Hardcover from my shelf

Happy Memorial Day, dear readers! I love the fact that the post for today is a Sarah Dessen book because I feel like it isn’t summer until I’ve read one. And I was really, really excited for this one despite the fact that The Moon and More was not as exceptional as I thought it was going to be. But, Dessen more than makes up for it with Saint Anything.

I’m jumping ahead of myself though. This book follows the tale of Sydney Sanford, a girl who finds that she is invisible, with good reason. For the last year or so her parents have been super involved in her brother Peyton’s life. He hasn’t been making the best decisions. Between getting busted for pot, going to rehab, getting arrested for breaking and entering things have been pretty intense. But not as intense as they got one night, where he had been drinking and on his way home he hit a kid on a bike head on. The kid is paralyzed and Peyton has been sentenced to jail. Because of the lawyer bills getting so expensive, Sydney does the sensible thing and decides to switch from the expensive Perkins Day to the public school Jackson.

It’s at this school that everything changes. She is no longer invisible. She makes new friends including the very bubbly and serious Layla, her brother Mac, the neurotic Ed, and the very interesting Irv. With this new life it’s hard to go back to her house where she is still invisible just when she doesn’t want to be.

As I stated above, after 2013’s The Moon and More I was a little bit wary about this new book of Dessen’s, but I should have known not to doubt her mastery. I started this book on Friday at work and read a good chunk of it. I was actually disappointed to leave because that meant I had to stop reading! This will probably be said a lot by others, but Sydney really reminds me a lot of myself. She feels invisible even with her closest friends, but it just takes one new friend to change all of that. I absolutely adored the character of Layla and during most of this book I wanted to reach through the pages and give her a hug. She’s there for Sydney when she needs her the most. Mac reminds me a lot of Owen from Just Listen with the pizza delivery and music thing, in fact the first time Sydney sees him he’s wearing an Anger Management t-shirt, which was so awesome. Another thing that I liked about this book was how not in your face Sydney and Mac’s relationship was. It slowly came together and you followed the journey with Sydney.

Dessen, as usual, has such a way with her characters that you can’t help but feel angry with Sydney when her mom finally throws down the gauntlet and keeps her under strict orders. But at the same time, she also has a way of progressing the relationship between the kid and the parents. It’s beautiful.

Final Rating: 5 out of 5 stars. This book was really enjoyable and I can’t wait to read it again and again.

Bookshelf worthy? One of the few authors whose books I buy without even reading the summary. She’s that good.

About arkornylo

College grad, writer who's always suffering from some form of writer's block, hockey enthusiast, book lover, music junkie and graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Contemporary, Favorite Authors, Romance, Sarah Dessen, Young Adult Fiction and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Saint Anything by Sarah Dessen

  1. To be honest, after I read Saint Anything, I came away from it with mixed feelings. I really enjoyed it but it didn’t wow me like TAF, Just Listen, or even Along For the Ride (I really loved Auden in that one since I could relate to her). However I did like the This Lullaby throwback in this one with the mention of Spinnerbait. And the food references were great!

    Like

  2. Like you, I really like this novel! I hadn’t read a Sarah Dessen novel before but after reading this novel, I must read her other ones!

    Like

Leave a Reply

