Ensnared by A.G. Howard

22447220Title: Ensnared
Author: A.G. Howard
Series: Splintered Trilogy
Previous Books in the Series:
1. Splintered
2. Unhinged
Date Started: May 19
Date Finished: May 20
Format: Hardcover from my local library

Alyssa has lost everything that is important to her and has ended up in the last place that she ever wanted to be. She is stuck in the asylum that her mother was in, because her father has worried that it’s her turn for the madness. Her mother is missing as is her boyfriend Jeb and that’s not all. Morpheus – her childhood friend – is gone and the rabbit hole to Wonderland has imploded. She is locked out of the one place that she could really call home all because of Red’s attack on prom that changed everything. But she won’t stay down long, she will find a way into Wonderland and the AnyElsewhere and get back everything that she has lost. This time around though her human half won’t hamper her, because she has finally caved to the madness and she is unstoppable.

Before I started Ensnared I made sure that I didn’t have a lot of expectations for the final book, knowing that if I did they weren’t going to be lived up to. The one expectation I did have was that the pesky love triangle that has been ever apparent in the previous two novels was going to somehow be resolved. I was right, but not in the way I expected, but again, that is what I loved about this series. It very rarely went in the direction that I thought it was going to go into.

I wasn’t sure that Alyssa could grow anymore as a heroine, but man, did she ever grow in this book! It started in the last few pages of Unhinged as she finally came to grips with her netherling side, and it continued in this book. She is finally at peace with that side of hers – in almost everything – and uses it to her advantage to save Morpheus and Jeb. However, when she does finally get to rescue them, she runs into the last thing she ever expected. Jeb absolutely hates her and has morphed into a netherling with borrowed magic from Morpheus. I have to admit the cold and powerful Jeb was definitely different. I was almost ready to give up on him until Alyssa brought out the side that we all knew. As for our sneaky moth friend, he really laid it on thick in this book. He makes it abundantly clear that he loves Alyssa and will do anything he has to make sure that she picks him. I’m kind of glad that I wasn’t Alyssa because I wouldn’t know how to choose…

Howard spins the tale of Alice in Wonderland very craftily into this book’s pages as she not only introduces the Queen of Hearts – or Hart – as the queen of the AnyElsewhere realm who was once the queen of the red realm but also the idea that Lewis Carroll was part of a league of knights who guarded the entrances to Wonderland. The ending to this book pretty much blew my mind, but in the best way possible. I’m really sad to see this book series end.

Final Rating: 5 out of 5 stars. I have only ever seen a love triangle resolved in a way that benefits all parties once, but Howard was able to be the second. The characters in this series jumped off the pages and I’m really glad that I read these books.

Bookshelf worthy? I changed my mind. I want these books purple text and haunting book covers all on my shelves NOW.

About arkornylo

College grad, writer who's always suffering from some form of writer's block, hockey enthusiast, book lover, music junkie and graphic designer.
This entry was posted in AG Howard, Book Reviews, Fairy Tale Retellings, Fantasy, Romance, Splintered Trilogy, Young Adult Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ensnared by A.G. Howard

  1. Pingback: Untamed by A.G. Howard | Too Many Books Not Enough Shelves

Leave a Reply

