Unhinged by A.G. Howard

17449197Title: Unhinged
Author: A.G. Howard
Series: Splintered Trilogy
Previous Book in Series:
1. Splintered
Date Started: May 15
Date Finished: May 19
Format: Hardcover from my local library

Alyssa Gardner has had quite the year. She went to the world of Wonderland, became it’s queen and fought off Queen Red. She almost lost her best friend/boyfriend Jeb, but used her wish to save him and make him not remember his time in Wonderland. She decided not to rule though and to go back to her normal life. Now, everything seems to have gone back to normal. Her mother is home from the asylum, Jeb and her are dating, and she’s about to graduate from high school. But there are still problems that remain…

It starts with Allie’s mosaics, before she went to Wonderland she used to create these masterpieces by using insects. Now, she has switched over to stones that she fills with her blood, and the images she creates are slightly disturbing and getting worse with each new creation. Then there are her nightmares about Wonderland, but it isn’t the world she remembers. It looks like a war zone, and in these dreams Morpheus is there, trying to convince her to come back and claim her throne. She ignores it all until it almost becomes too late…

I’ve probably said it before, but I will say it again. My love for this series is infinite. I love the fact that Howard doesn’t go in the direction that I think that she’s going to go in and that she’s always surprising me with where she does go. The character of Morpheus has grown on me since the last book. His sinister plots always have Allie’s best interests at heart and I can totally see why people would be on his team. Jeb, on the other hand, was sort of a bland, typical boyfriend of the protagonist character for me. The moments between him and Allie in the beginning were your usual sweet and fluffy with just a tinge of something more, but I looked forward to Morpheus’ appearance more. It wasn’t until Jeb got dragged back into Allie’s real world that things between them got interesting and I seriously want to know how his threat of them not being over means!

Like I said before the storyline for Unhinged wasn’t at all what I expected. When Allie found out about Red still being in existence and threatening Wonderland, I thought for sure she was going to go back down the rabbit hole. I’m glad that she didn’t, especially because it showed Allie’s two worlds colliding and how she dealt with the stress. I also liked the focus on Allie’s mom, too. I thought for sure that with her home from the asylum she was going to take a back seat and just be the ‘mom.’ But she wasn’t. If anything, she was the one person on this side of the hole that Allie could talk to. And the reveal that she had tried for the crown before running into her dad, was a total twist that I didn’t see coming!

Final Rating: 5 out of 5 stars. I could gush all day about this book, but then I wouldn’t have any time to read the next one!

Bookshelf worthy? Support your local library!

About arkornylo

College grad, writer who's always suffering from some form of writer's block, hockey enthusiast, book lover, music junkie and graphic designer.
This entry was posted in AG Howard, Book Reviews, Fairy Tale Retellings, Fantasy, Romance, Splintered Trilogy and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Unhinged by A.G. Howard

  1. Pingback: Ensnared by A.G. Howard | Too Many Books Not Enough Shelves

  2. Pingback: Untamed by A.G. Howard | Too Many Books Not Enough Shelves

Leave a Reply

