The Retribution of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

15768409Title: The Retribution of Mara Dyer
Author: Michelle Hodkin
Series: The Mara Dyer Trilogy
Previous Book(s) Review(s):
1. The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer
2. The Evolution of Mara Dyer
Date Started: February 23
Date Finished: February 25
Format: Hardcover from my local library

My 200th post on this blog and I’m really happy that it goes to the review for The Retribution of Mara Dyer. As I stated in my previous reviews for this series, I don’t expect my heightened expectations to be met in sequels. But this series did just that if not more. Mara Dyer has been told that she is beautiful and crazy. She’s been poked, prodded and tested on. She’s had so much medication in her, it’s a miracle that she isn’t brain dead. And just when she thought she was finally getting to the root of why she is how she is, the rug gets pulled out from under her again. Mara wakes up in another institution with many tests and drugs being administered to her. The last thing she remembers is what happened at Horizons with Jude, Noah and Jamie. She knows that she has to get out of there and find out what’s happened to Jamie and the other patients. But there isn’t a way out, not when she is this heavily medicated. However that doesn’t stop other parties from trying to come to her rescue. Jude helps her – yeah, you read that right, JUDE – escape and promises her via a recording that when she leaves Noah will be waiting for her. He isn’t, but that doesn’t stop her from rescuing Jamie and Stella, and killing Dr. Kells on her way out. The mystery of what Mara and the others are doesn’t die with her though, there was someone backing her and Horizons, it’s just a matter of finding out who. The answer may surprise you, I know it surprised me.

This book was everything I wanted it to be and more. You finally get a reasonable explanation as to what is going on with Mara and the other kids and what this G1821 stuff was all about. You also get more info about how that G1821 is connected to Mara and Noah and if there is one spoiler that I will happily give out – stop reading if you don’t want to know – it’s that Noah is in fact alive. I’ll admit that Hodkin had me going a few times in this book as I tried to figure out whether or not I believed he was dead. I’m glad I stayed optimistic.

As with the other books, this one had me really digging Mara’s relationship with her older brother Daniel. They are super close and when she runs into him while in New York – whoops there’s another spoiler – and she tells him how her hypothetical fiction assignment for Horizons is real he believes her one hundred percent. Not only that he helps her dig more into what was going on there and who was behind it. Score for the awesome older brother.

Final Rating: 5 out of 5 stars. I absolutely adored this series. There wasn’t one fault with any of the books especially with this one. …Well, okay maybe a few for this one. Not enough Noah and the ending is kind of open. But other than that I’m glad I took a chance on this series.

Bookshelf worthy? Damn it I need more room/shelves!

About arkornylo

College grad, writer who's always suffering from some form of writer's block, hockey enthusiast, book lover, music junkie and graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Michelle Hodkin, Mystery, Psychotic Thriller, Romance, The Mara Dyer Trilogy, Young Adult Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Retribution of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

  1. otakutwins1 says:

    I loved this book sooo much! The beginning was super intense and awesome, it had me hooked! ^^ I’m glad you liked it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

