Captivated by You by Sylvia Day

CaptivatedbyYouTitle: Captivated by You
Author: Sylvia Day
Series: Crossfire Quintet
Previous Book(s) Review(s):
1. Bared to You
2. Reflected in You
3. Entwined with You
Date Started: November 30
Date Finished: December 1
Format: ebook from my iBook library

Two weeks after it’s release date I have the review for the latest installment in the Crossfire series. To be honest I just downloaded the book on Sunday and spent most of Monday when I got home from work devouring this book. There are a lot of spoilers ahead, so please be forewarned.

Captivated by You is the first book in the series that has dual POVs – the ever present Eva and Gideon. Some of the reviews on Goodreads didn’t like Gideon’s POV and found something lacking in it, but I disagree. I have been overly critical of Gideon and Eva’s relationship since book 1, and somehow Gideon’s chapters actually made me less critical. I felt like I understood him better by having these chapters. However, just because I understood him better doesn’t mean that I agree one hundred percent with all his decisions – case in point, his decision to get Eva to come work for him by offering her boss a job, was pretty freaking lame. In fact I was so pissed off I actually used an angry emoticon – and I don’t usually use emoticons – in my notes.

I still feel for both of them though, because even though they are married and everything should be happy for them – since it is their first year of marriage – they are getting attacked by all sides. Cary’s cutting again because the drama that’s going on with Tatiana’s pregnancy and him having to tell Trey about it. Eva still has to deal with Brett Kline, who even though he now knows that she’s married to Gideon refuses to give up on her. Corinne is selling a tell-all book about her time with Gideon. Anne Lucas is threatening Eva. There’s this guy named Landon who’s been gunning for the Cross name for years. Oh, and in case that wasn’t enough, Gideon’s stepfather finally knows about what happened to him all those years ago.

There was a reason I couldn’t put this book down on Monday, it was just intense. Don’t get me wrong, I’m still pissed off that Eva and Gideon decide to solve all their problems with sex, and I was really happy when she walked after the whole ‘job’ thing. Seeing Gideon’s broken down self was a huge step forward. And I absolutely adore the character of Ireland.

Final Rating: 4 out of 5 stars. Probably one of the better books in the series. A lot of growth in Eva and Gideon’s relationship that I appreciated. I’m curious to see what happens to them now. How do they get past the ‘job’ thing? What about this Landon guy? Anna? Corinne? Tatiana’s baby? And with the under theme of pregnancy in this book is Eva going to get pregnant?

Bookshelf worthy? I caved and bought the electronic copy again. I love making notes!

About arkornylo

College grad, writer who's always suffering from some form of writer's block, hockey enthusiast, book lover, music junkie and graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Crossfire Quintet, Erotica, Romance, Sylvia Day and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Captivated by You by Sylvia Day

  1. Pingback: One with You by Sylvia Day | Too Many Books Not Enough Shelves

Leave a Reply

