October Roundup

HAPPY HALLOWEEN everyone! I hope you guys are enjoying this spooky holiday – or if you’re from my neck of the woods – staying warm. Usually I post my Reading Away the Weekend on Friday’s, but considering it’s the end of the month, I decided to give this roundup post a try. So here’s what happened this month:

  • I read 14 books, although only 11 of them counted towards my challenge of 180 books. Shadow and Bone, Siege and Storm, and Shadow of Night I read last year, so Goodreads only counts them for last year and not this year.
  • I gave up on one book, The School for Good and Evil. I was really excited to read this series because I loved fairy tale retellings, but this book after only nine or ten chapters in, I couldn’t take it anymore. There was nothing redeemable about the two main characters, and what was the point of the book? Sophie, who was desperate to get into the School of Good, gets placed in the School of Evil. Not surprising considering she’s selfish as all hell. I don’t know, maybe I was on a book burnout or something, but I couldn’t finish this one at all.
  • I’m also still considering reducing my reading challenge again. It depends on how I do in November, but we shall see…

Coming up next month – So in November and December I try not to start any new series and try and finish up series that I started (and have all the books out). Also in November, I doubt that I’ll be doing a lot of reading because of NaNoWriMo or National Novel Writing Month. For those of you who don’t know what that is, it’s where authors try to write 50,000 words in 30 days. This is my fifth year participating, and I’m not too optimistic that I’ll win, but I’m going to try anyway.

As always, Happy Reading!

About arkornylo

College grad, writer who's always suffering from some form of writer's block, hockey enthusiast, book lover, music junkie and graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Monthly Roundup and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

