Sweet Evil by Wendy Higgins

SweetEvilTitle: Sweet Evil
Author: Wendy Higgins
Series: The Sweet Trilogy
Date Started: September 17
Date Finished: September 27
Format: ebook from the digital library

I’ve read a few angel themed books in the last couple of years. Humans who find out that they’re not completely human but are actually part angel and then them trying to come into their new powers or their new reality. But Sweet Evil was a little different from what I’m used to.

Anna is a goody two shoes, and she knows it. She doesn’t party. She doesn’t do drugs or alcohol, and she always respects her adoptive mother’s rules. But even she gets tempted every now and again. The thing that differentiates her from other people is that her senses are extraordinary. She’s got super hearing, seeing, touch, etc. She doesn’t understand why, and especially why it all started happening when she was sixteen. That is until she meets the mysterious Kaidan Rowe who intrigues her more than any other because he is just like her.

Patti, her adoptive mother, is alarmed when Anna tells her that she met someone like her, and eventually tells her the truth. Anna is the child of angels. Her mother was a guardian angel and her father was one of the Fallen and a Duke of one of the seven deadly sins. Due to the way she was brought up, she’s not as evil as she should be, but that’s okay because her father believes the guardian angels have plans for her. Something that will change everything.

When I first started reading this book I honestly thought that it was going to be another one of those books that I would never finish. Anna was kind of annoying to me. She was very timid and almost too good. When she goes to that party and accepts a drink from Scott, I wanted to scream at her. The character that saved this book was Kaidan Rowe, Anna became a different person around him and the way he acted made me devour this book. He’s evil, but not, and just when things heat up between the two of them on a road trip to see her father, he backs away.

The only thing that really bothered me about this book was the fact that Anna while trying to get over Kaidan meets Kopeno, another Nephilim, and I started to sense a love triangle. I’ve made my feelings about those well known.

Final Rating: 4 out of 5 stars. Slow start but picked up quickly after the introduction of Kaidan. A different take on the angel genre.

Bookshelf worthy? Support your local library!

About arkornylo

College grad, writer who's always suffering from some form of writer's block, hockey enthusiast, book lover, music junkie and graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Paranormal, Romance, The Sweet Trilogy, Wendy Higgins, Young Adult Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sweet Evil by Wendy Higgins

  1. Kat says:

    Ah, I love stories about angels, though I agree in that some are hard – or nearing impossible – to finish, what with being too similar. But now I’m interested in Sweet Evil and will definitely add it to my list!

    Like

  2. I haven’t read a story about angels in a while. I think the last time was probably Halo. I’ve read a few Angel books, and only a couple of them have enticed me to read on, but I’m still kind of intrigued by this one. Hmm…

    Like

  3. Interesting review!
    ~SAT

    Like

  4. Pingback: Sweet Reckoning by Wendy Higgins | Too Many Books Not Enough Shelves

  5. Pingback: Sweet Peril by Wendy Higgins | Too Many Books Not Enough Shelves

  6. Pingback: Sweet Temptation by Wendy Higgins | Too Many Books Not Enough Shelves

Leave a Reply

