Daylighters by Rachel Caine

16115626Title: Daylighters
Author: Rachel Caine
Series: The Morganville Vampires
Previous Books in the Series:
1. Glass Houses
2. The Dead Girls’ Dance
3. Midnight Alley
4. Feast of Fools
5. Lord of Misrule
6. Carpe Corpus
7. Fade Out
8. Kiss of Death
9. Ghost Town
10. Bite Club
11. Last Breath
12. Black Dawn
13. Bitter Blood
14. Fall of Night
Date Started: June 23
Date Finished: June 25
Format: Hardcover from local library

I’ve said it before on this blog and I’ll say it again. I don’t like final books in series. The whole wrap everything up, weepy characters, and sometimes – if the author is evil – death of beloved characters usually happens in final books and it drives me crazy because most of the time I have high expectations for how things should end. But for the last couple of final books I’ve started to change my mind, and Daylighters was no exception.

This book begins where Fall of Night left off, Michael and the other vamps are being hauled away, Eve, Claire and Shane are being hauled away too, but they’re giving more of a fight. Things have changed in Morganville and not for the better…sort of. All the vampires have been corralled together at the old mall – Morganville had a mall? Who knew? – and they have shock collars around their necks to keep them in line. The head of the Daylighter Foundation – Fallon – has plans for the vampires, not that he reveals what they are for a few hundred pages. Turns out that his ultimate goal wasn’t to free Morganville residents from the reign of vampires, but to exact revenge on vampires for what they did to him many years ago. Or more specifically, Myrinn. Fallon used to be a priest who tried to cure Myrinn of his mental sickness, and for his trouble got bitten and turned. Somehow he got turned back to a human thanks to a mysterious cure. The only problem is that the cure doesn’t work about 73% of the time.

A lot of stuff happens in this book – Claire gets arrested for murder, Eve goes in for shock therapy, Shane becomes a blood thirsty werewolf, Michael becomes human again, Oliver is actually a nice guy, etc. – so much so that you sort of forget that this was the final book in the series, until you reach the end and Caine’s playlist page. Like I said, the last couple of final books in series have really made me rethink my whole ‘endings suck’ philosophy. My only complaint about this book was the tie-up with Shane and Claire’s relationship. Marriage? Really? I mean, yeah, they’ve been through a lot and they survived it all, so marriage shouldn’t be a big deal, but whoa. That was kind of fast.

Final Rating: 5 out of 5 stars. Lovely ending. Not a lot of carnage, surprisingly.

Bookshelf worthy? Electronic or support your local library!


About arkornylo

College grad, writer who's always suffering from some form of writer's block, hockey enthusiast, book lover, music junkie and graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Morganville Vampires Series, Paranormal, Rachel Caine, Young Adult Fiction and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s